Ree Varcoe: The Happiest Christmas Song I Know

Chapter 5 Hamilton Christmas Vignettes: The Social Angel and Huffington Post Writer

Enjoy the Tron Today (sung to the tune of Jingle Bells, the happiest Christmas song I know)

Welcome to the Tron
On a warm December day
Through the town we go
Laughing all the way
Spending time with friends
Making spirits bright
What fun it is to laugh and sing
Exploring city sights

Oh, Christmas in Hamilton
It’s the place to play
Oh, what fun it is to shop
For the coming holiday
Oh, Christmas in Hamilton
Dining where you may
Grab your date and don’t be late
Come enjoy the Tron today!

A visit to the Zoo
Or the Gardens might be nice
Walk along the river’s edge
We could always do it twice
See amazing works of art
Top sporting matches too
We’ll find fun
For everyone
With so many things to do!

Oh, Christmas in Hamilton
It’s the place to play
Oh, what fun it is to shop
For the coming holiday
Oh, Christmas in Hamilton
Dining where you may
Grab your date and don’t be late
Come enjoy the Tron today!

Hello! My name is Ree Varcoe and my job involves growing a community of ‘angels’ interested in people who need a little help to get along in life. Leading Social Angels gives me opportunities to meet so many people of different backgrounds who are each trying to live the best they can and contribute to our society. I’ve been living in the Hamilton area for over 11 years now, since my kiwi husband convinced me to bring our baby boys here from America in 2002. Once my sons were old enough to go to primary school, I started working in the marketing department for our City Council before helping launch Hamilton Central Business Association. I’m a very devoted supporter of our city and its good business owners and happily know most of them by name.

My sister and her husband are bringing their darling little girls to spend Christmas with us here this year. We’ll spend time in Hamilton and also plan on visiting Wellington, then camping in Motueka too. The kiwi camping experience is something I’m excited for us all to enjoy together.

In ten years’ time, I’ll look back on 2013 with a smile, remembering it was the year my eldest boy started high school, I shared the movie ‘Happy’ with a few hundred people in Hamilton, tried the flying trapeze as a surprise organised by my sister, laughed myself silly at my 30th high school reunion and decided to start writing a book with a dear friend about the crazy things we’ve learned in life. I’ll keep you posted on that one!

This year I suppose I’ve been pretty well-behaved for a change. The best thing about my job is that I’m able to spread some love around (and who wouldn’t love to be able to do that for a living?) so I hope that helps me find a place on Santa’s ‘Nice’ list. I don’t want anything for Christmas that I don’t already have – honest! It’s already a wonderful gift that my sister and her family are coming. I had to try to top my sister’s trapeze act so I’ve purchased some time from the gifted Sandra Jensen of Free Lunch to create a special stilt walking workshop for my sister and me.

When I have time, I write a blog about things I love in life (particularly those that make New Zealand so special) on the Huffington Post website. So when #lovethetron asked me to contribute a Christmas message for the city, I thought it would be fun to create a cheerful Jingle Bells tribute, highlighting just a few of the special things we all love about this place.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

We love Angel-in-Chief Ree Varcoe for her bright smile and beautiful outlook on life. Check out Social Angels to see how you can spread a little Christmas cheer this year. Follow Ree on Twitter @ReeVarcoe and enjoy her writing on the Huffington Post.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

